Shaw Prize

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences

The Shaw Prize is an international award managed and administered by The Shaw Prize Foundation based in Hong Kong. It was established under the auspices of Run Run Shaw.

Mathematics is the basic language of all natural sciences and all modern technology. In the twentieth century mathematics made tremendous strides both in opening new frontiers and in solving important and difficult old problems. Its influence permeates every creative scientific and technological discipline, and extends into the social science. With the developments in computer science, information technology, and statistics in the twentieth century, the importance of mathematics to mankind will be further enhanced in the twenty-first century.

2004 Shiing-Shen Chern

... for his initiation of the field of global differential geometry and his continued leadership of the field, resulting in beautiful developments that are at the centre of contemporary mathematics, with deep connections to topology, algebra and analysis, in short, to all major branches of mathematics of the last sixty years.

2005 Andrew John Wiles

... for his proof of Fermat's Last Theorem.

2006 David Mumford (shared)

... for his contributions to mathematics, and to the new interdisciplinary fields of pattern theory and vision research.

2006 Wu Wen-Tsun (shared)

... for his contributions to the new interdisciplinary field of mathematics mechanization.

2007 Robert Langlands and Richard Taylor

... for initiating and developing a grand unifying vision of mathematics that connects prime numbers with symmetry.

2008 Vladimir Arnold and Ludwig Faddeev

... for their widespread and influential contributions to Mathematical Physics.

2009 Simon K Donaldson Clifford H Taubes

... for their many brilliant contributions to geometry in 3 and 4 dimensions.

Index of Societies, honours, etc.
Welcome page Biographies Index
History Topics Index Famous curves index
Chronology Time lines
Mathematicians of the day Anniversaries for the year
Search Form Birthplace Maps

JOC/EFR February 2010

The URL of this page is: