SIAM George Pólya Prize

The George Pólya Prize

The Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics awards the George Pólya Prize every two years, alternately in two categories:
  1. for a notable application of combinatorial theory;

  2. for a notable contribution in another area of interest to George Pólya such as approximation theory, complex analysis, number theory, orthogonal polynomials, probability theory, or mathematical discovery and learning.

1971 R L Graham, K Leeb, B L Rothschild, A W Hales, and R I Jewett

1975 R P Stanley, E Szemeredi, and R M Wilson

1979 L Lovász

1983 A Bjorner and P Seymour

1987 A C Yao

1992 G Kalai and S Shelah

1994 Gregory Chudnovsky and Harry Kesten

1996 Jeffry Ned Kahn and David Reimer

1998 Percy Deift, Xin Zhou, and Peter Sarnak

2000 Noga Alon

2002 Craig A Tracy and Harold Widom

2004 Neil Robertson and Paul Seymour

2006 Gregory Lawler, Oded Schramm, and Wendelin Werner

2008 Van H Vu

2010 Emmanuel Candès and Terence Tao

MacTutor links:

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics

SIAM Prizes, etc:

SIAM Prize for Distinguished Service
SIAM von Kármán Prize
SIAM Ralph E Kleinman Prize
AWM-SIAM Kovalevsky Lecture
SIAM W T and Idalia Reid Prize in Mathematics
SIAM John von Neumann Lecture
SIAM Polya Prize

Other Web site:

SIAM Web site

Index of Societies, honours, etc.
Welcome page Biographies Index
History Topics Index Famous curves index
Chronology Time lines
Mathematicians of the day Anniversaries for the year
Search Form Birthplace Maps

JOC/EFR March 2015

The URL of this page is: